How to Mix Vintage and Modern Fashion

I have a serious thing for vintage fashion. The story behind a piece, the thrill of finding a hidden gem at the bottom of a bin or underneath a rack. There’s a feeling, a high, you get that you just don’t feel when shopping at the mall or high street shops. They are one-of-a-kind items: treasures.

I must admit, I am not the best at thrift shopping, but I’m working on it! My patience for looking through racks & racks of clothing is, well, definitely subpar. But I’ve found other ways to hunt for these unique pieces other than going to the Goodwill or the Salvation Army! I “shop” my mom’s closet regularly (Bonus: the stories you get with these pieces are amazing! I’ll be moving on to my grandma’s next 😉 ). Garage sales are a perfect option for great vintage fashion & home goods finds with less to sort through all at once. Consignment shops & vintage stores like Black Fawn Exchange (BFE) in Buffalo, NY. These kind of places do the thrifting for you & let me tell you, they do it well!

Their vintage finds are of great quality AND unique, while ALSO being on trend. All essential elements for what we are about to talk about!

IMG_3561

Another reason I have a love affair with vintage clothing, buying vintage is a way to:

  1. Help the environment by conserving resources
  2. Support small businesses by shopping at vintage shops
  3. Deepen your ability to express your own unique style & creativity

While vintage shopping is a feat in & of itself. Incorporating these one-of-a-kind gems into your everyday wardrobe, can be just as tricky. This is where this blog post comes in handy!

//How to mix vintage & modern pieces//

“In order to be irreplaceable one must always be different”

– Coco Chanel

How to style these treasured vintage finds with your current wardrobe & style.

Below are my top tips for integrating everything from vintage band tees to silk dresses to antique jewelry into your wardrobe to create a cohesive & personalized look!

1. Avoid wearing vintage in poor condition

I put this as my #1 tip for a reason! When on the hunt for rare finds remember quality. Previous decades tend to have better constructed garments than the works of the mass produced retailers of today, however still be cautious. Inspect the clothing. Figure out if you can get a stain out or if a strap is too far gone for repair.

This is where shops like BFE & consignment shops come in handy. They know good quality & have sifted through the racks for you!

2. Be open

Shop the men’s section: especially for graphic tees & oversized jackets

Shop the children’s/junior’s section: If you have a smaller foot, a large kid’s size may be perfect for you or if you’re petite, giving the tops & bottoms a look never hurt!

Try Something New: the best thing about fashion is experimenting with style. Stay true to yourself (peep the next point!) BUT if you’re in the mood to give something new a try OR think a certain piece will really add something to your wardrobe! Grab it! Style evolves , grows, & changes: vintage items are perfect additions as yours progresses.

3. Stay true to your style

Don’t just buy something to buy it OR because it’s cheap! A piece will speak to you when you see it! I’ve watched people shop vintage you can see it in their eyes & body language!

Stick to your natural hair & makeup routine

IMG_3540

Make sure the pieces fit you! Imperative for the tips below! There is a difference between oversized & an item swallowing you whole!

IMG_3557
I LOVE backpacks & plaid, so I integrated them in to this vintage tee & cut-offs look!

Rock YOUR STYLE! If you’re boho, try a vintage maxi. If you like sophisticated, elegant styles look for some silk pieces.

OR

MAKE SOMETHING YOUR STYLE! If you fall in love with a piece that’s totally not you, make it you! For me that would be something more preppy like a polo. I could incorporate that piece into my wardrobe by cutting it cropped or rocking it with some leather!

My style is very girly grungy. With more girly pieces, I like to toughen up the look by adding some leather or a combat boot!

I also love mixing corporate, office style pieces with casual wear so I try to personalize my outfits that way by adding a blazer to casual tees!

3. Combine with current trends

Honestly a current trend right now is vintage inspired clothing! So really if you want to go head to toe, you go GIRL! But I think there’s a something fresh & inspiring about the MIX.

Look out for vintage pieces that are on trend now: floral dresses, silk, wide leg trousers, graphic tees, animal prints

IMG_3559

Modernize & Upgrade your Vintage Finds: if you don’t like the buttons change them! If a hems not your style or too long, cut it!

IMG_3558
These vintage Levi’s fit perfect! (Took me over a year to find ones for me! Patience people!!) They were just a little too long but I didn’t let that stop me from snatching them! Use scissors & cut to your desired length & style!

Add a vintage accessory to your everyday look: Fanny Packs, sunglasses, jewelry

This is perfect if you’re new to vintage shopping & styling! You can test the waters with accessories. But this is me warning you: you will be hooked from that day forward!

4. Blend Decades

Creating a look with pieces from different decades brings outwardly contrasting eras together. This is key when making your vintage look current & harmonious.

 Balance your 1940s dress with a 1990s jean jacket or sneakers.

IMG_3543

Rather than rocking a full 1960s look, throw in a 70s T-shirt & some 90s style cut-offs.

IMG_3377

 

5. Mix Casual & Formal

Many of the styles from past decades were a lot more formal than what we wear today.

Try:

A vintage silk dress with sneakers & a casual jacket

A old-school band tee with a formal skirt or trousers

A blazer with mom jeans or shorts

IMG_3544

IMG_3554

All creating fashion-forward looks!

 

6. Be Confident

 Your best accessory! A lot of vintage finds are quirky, bold, & expressive which is why we are drawn to them! Sometimes a bold print or wild style may be a little out of your comfort zone but own the look, girlfriend!

True style is in the little ways you personalize your look.

IMG_3565

 

 

The MIX allows for complete expression of yourself & your style which is why, I loved creating this blog post.  You might have a more preppy look, a boho vibe, or your style is completely vintage inspired: the MIX is for everyone it’s all about putting your own spin on it! AND if you want to do the total opposite of anything I suggest above, GO FOR IT!! It’s all about individuality & having fun with fashion, there’s no rights or wrongs!

I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed shopping for it & writing it! For more modern vintage inspiration be sure to check out Black Fawn Exchange & my instagram! Thanks for stopping by! See you next time!

 

-B

 

One thought on “How to Mix Vintage and Modern Fashion

Leave a comment